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A person tied it; he is liable — 217 QTR WP

OVERVIEW

X117 27 rules that if a person tied a 2°%7 (of 1p977) to the foot of a 913170 and it caused
damage by someone tripping on the 9°27 (after it came to a rest), the WP is 21 a
v"1. There is a dispute between >"w7 and MdOIN regarding this ruling.
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It does not necessarily mean that he is liable only if he tied it, for the same rule
applies (that the person involved with the 9°27 is 2n) even if the %7 was initially
in a concealed place and a person placed it in an exposed place where it is

accessible for the 93170 that he is 21, since he was negligent in placing an object

where it may cause damage (which is a 77210 of M) -
= INIP NP 1NN KD 199N

And he is liable even if he did not pick up the %7 and did not acquire it, for one
is liable for 712 even if it does not belong to him.

mooIn cites and disagrees with >"w15:
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And not like >"w9 explained that the reason the “wp is 21 is because he
acquired the 9°97 by raising it when he tied it to the 110, so this %7 has

owners (namely the 72p) and therefore he is 217. MdOIN rejects this reasoning -
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For any obstacle which one placed in a 2'"'719, one is liable for it on account of

712 even though he did not acquire this obstacle, but rather it is 77577 (nevertheless one is
27 for it is considered his 712).

mooIn proves that one need not own a M2 in order to be liable for its damages:
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For the dispute between 21 and X is limited only to a case where he was
not 9°75n the obstacle -

' See MmooIN previously on this a8 77 7MY,
* It is actually a 772 *2372 93907 M2 which we derive from a mwn 7% (see previously ¥,1). He is 271 here for placing
the 2°7 in the 1"'711 where it eventually became entangled 7131702 and damaged after it came to a rest.
* ywp "7, See “Thinking it over’ # 1.
* If one caused damage by placing an obstacle which he owns in the 2", according to 27 it is considered a 77910 of
T (and is 211 even if 0°95 were damaged by it), and according to YXmW it is considered M2 (and if it damaged 09>
it is 7wy, just like M12). See “Thinking it over’ # 2.
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However, where he was 9°pp» the obstacle, it is considered the P12 of 913,

whether according to 27 or according to ®XW. Therefore even if he did not tie it on
the 217N, rather he just placed it where it is accessible, he is 211 since it is (his) M.

SUMMARY

According to *"w1 the 2w 1s 211 only if he acquired it (and is certainly not 2717 if
he only placed it 757107 2171n2), while MdOIN maintains that even if he only placed
1t 719707 21P»2 (and did not tie it), nevertheless he i1s 21, because M2 does not
require an owner.

THINKING IT OVER
1. What would the ruling be if he tied the 2°%7 to the 713170 in the *"77 and did not
acquire it (he did not raise it higher than three o°nov); is he 21 or not?’

2. Why was it necessary for moon to mention that HXw1 21 argue 7oK X972;°
what is relevant here is that by 779X all agree that it is 1127

> See mwn nona and (X1 7"72) 7"0 MK DI " .
® See footnote # 4. In any event both %Xmw1 21 agree that he is (certainly) 271 by P9 X5!
2

TosfosInEnglish.com



