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We derive this as well from the other 15217 527 Nan

Overview

X217 said that we can derive the ruling in the case where one blinded another and
with another simultaneous blow killed him, that he is only put to death, but does
not have to pay for the eye, from another teaching of 1"7n (and we do not need the
o5 of 01 9> to teach this ruling). The "0 77X is based on the p1od of! nnn 1w
1Y, which we expound to mean ¥ nnn won Py &9, It is not overly clear how this
mw17 teaches us the previous ruling by "1 Wy nx X»°0.2 mooin offers his
explanation.

=19 RPOYT 9INRP NN NYWIT NONNN IND
The X3 did not mean to say that we derive the ruling by 11°v nX X0 (that he is
only killed but is not required to pay) from that 7297 (of w1 ¥ X Py Dnn Py

7Y nnn) directly -
= 9NN 9272 99979 1% NN NIPDY HD5 NIY NY NWHT NINN NPT

For that w97 has no connection at all to the case where he blinded his eye and

killed him with another blow (that he is not required to pay) -
- Y NN YOI PY XYY 1PUATT 3257 597 9997 597 NN

Rather this is what X217 wishes to infer; for just as we expound Y nrin v to

mean but not PP NN wWH PY -
= YO NN VAN PPY XD W) NNN YA 122YW97 923 %90

So similarly we also expound w21 prn wae1 to mean, but not ws1 nn wen PY (an
eye and a life for just a life), we can only take away the killer’s life; nothing else —

noon clarifies:*
= SNY99) WO NN ¥ 1P 22WN XY 9NN 9372 1)911 129 NN N1YD)

And the case of R'"72 197 11°Y DX X720 is not considered as if the aggressor did

173,83 (°vawn) maw.
2 See X7 11"7 *"w1 who offers an explanation (which moo1n does not even cite). However, it seems that >"w9 is only
in the case of 712 1377 1Y DX X0, but not for X732 1377 1Y NX X1°D (as NHOIN maintains).
330,80 (Dvown) MW,
4 Seemingly the w77 of w51 AN woHN PY X7 is only if it was just wo1 nnn wo1 (where he just killed him and did not
casue another wound), however here since he both blinded him and killed him, it may be considered a case of v
waN 1Y NN wan (not wol nnn wan 1Y), which may not be excluded from wa1 nrn wol.
5 Therefore if he would have to pay for the eye also it would be considered X713 w91 nnn wan 1!
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two crimes wo11 'V, but rather it is considered just w21 alone (without 1) -
= 079 2UN XY NN NYYA 1Y NN NNYOY Nnd

For the act of 11°v nX 820, when he Killed him is not considered of any import -
= 11279 Y82 1ININY 'NON o5 NN 29N INDaT

Since he would have died regardless of the blinding, rather we consider it that
he killed him with much pain (by the blinding) —

n1voIN asks:
- 5N79) DY NYPIN Y27 NaNN 9 NN NN 9NN ON)

And if you will say; this ruling of 121 1°y PX X»°0 we can also derive from the

previous 17''7n; we can say -
= 95515 9NN 9272 NHIINY N2 NI NIY NN NNYD 12 NPON XY NNNA NN NNY

That just as by striking (killing) an animal the 770 does not differentiate
whether he killed her by blinding her eye (only), or whether he killed her (while
blinding her) with something else (with two blows), etc.

nB0IN answers:
= HNN ININA MY ¥YIWN NN NI DTN NINT 9D YN

And one can say that the syntax of 7773 79121 278 9% (in the singular) indicates

one blow (only), therefore it is inappropriate to say "1 npon X? as MoOIN asked, since that
would be discussing two blows, not one.

mooIn asks:
= 290 RDI1DAN PY 971 VT NP PIDN NN 9372 1190 13%Y NN NI 9NN ON)

And if you will say, in the case where R''72 397 12°» NR KX»°®, we should rule

that he is exempt from the eye payment even if in actuality he did not Kill him,

but he was attempting to kill him -
— YD) 1DI8NY JNY G NN 139V NN NNYOY NyYay

¢ There is no additional loss; when one is dead he is obviously also blind.

7 mpooin is explaining (if the blinding is 0175 2°wn 8%) why do we even need a P05 that he is not required to pay for
the eye. The explanation is that this is different from a regular killing, for since he caused him much pain (by
stabbing him in the eye), we may have thought that he should compensate for the loss of the eye, therefore the 105
teaches us that since the blinding is 2173 2°wn RY, it is considered only X773 w91, but not wan 1y, therefore for killing
a w91, one may punish only with w1, but not with wan 7°y.

8 This is the n"7n cited previously based on the 2105 (in 82,72 [1K] Xp*Y) of N1 QTR 7o MW nna 7o1Y; that just
like by 121 npon &7 7m72 on, the same applies to 78 791 that NP K.

% In both cases he just pays for the animal, so too by o7x 7197 there is no difference whether he killed him by blinding
him (only), or whether he killed him 71x 71272 (while blinding him); in both cases he receives the death penalty only,
but no monetary payment; why do we need the n'"7n 77°x?!
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For at the time when he blinded him he was a pursuer,!® and it is permitted to
save the victim by taking the life of the a7 —

nB0IN answers:
$IYONL 1DINNY 1N NIV 19929N1) THN 1DI8NY DIDIWA 999917 91217 W

And one can say that here we are discussing a case where the victim can be
saved by merely disabling one of the s'n77 limbs (without killing the 7717), in

which case one is not permitted to save the victim by Kkilling the q7n, therefore he is
not considered to be a 1N 2 1. The only reason he is 7w from paying for the 1y "»7 even if
he actually killed is because of the 105 of w512 wal.

Summary
If he blinded him and killed him with two simultaneous blows, he is exempt from

7Y 17 because we expound w51 nAnN wo1 but not w1 NN won Y. The p10d of 7m
"2 702 is by one blow; our case can be where 1"M2R% TIR2 19°%7% 1001 so it is not
W12 129X N1,

Thinking it over
mooin asks that he should be 1% »7n MWD as a 771 on account of n"aop.!!

However at this point in the X713 we assume that only by 712 134771 11’ X &1°0, does
the rule of n"2%p apply, but not by &"72 1771 12°Y DX X1°0 (unless we derive it from a
?109). How can then n1vo1n argue that if he attempted to kill him X"72 that he is a
7717 and is MWD because of n"a%p, when even if he killed him X'"72 we are not sure
that n"25p applies; so what is 9010 question?!!?

10 Since he was attempting to kill him, he is considered a 4717, and the rule is that in order to save the victim, one
may kill the A7, This is considered as if the 771 is 7N 2, in which case he is exempt from making any
monetary payment on account of »"2%p. The rule of n"a%p applies even in cases where the nn°m 2 was not
executed, for whatever reason. Therefore certainly where he actually killed him, he is M5 from payment. See
“Thinking it over’.
! See footnote # 10.
12 See apy> moa.
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